Tag Archives: Erik Paartalu

Round 3 A-League Team of the Week

jetsManager – Craig Deans (Newcastle Jets)

mvfcGoalkeeper – Ante Čović (Melbourne Victory)

heartDefender – Simon Colosimo (Melbourne Heart)

sydDefender – Jamie Coyne (Sydney FC)

wpDefender – Andrew Durante (Wellington Phoenix)

roarMidfielder – Erik Paartalu (Brisbane Roar)

sydMidfielder – Terry Antonis (Sydney FC)

heartMidfielder – Mate Dugandžić (Melbourne Heart)

roarMidfielder – Besart Berisha (Brisbane Roar)

jetsMidfielder – Jeremy Brockie (Newcastle Jets)

wpForward – Alex Smith (Wellington Phoenix)

perthForward – Shane Smeltz (Perth Glory)

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Brisbane Take M1 Derby 3-0


Brisbane Roar won for the third time this season, completing a 3-0 victory over M-1 derby foes Gold Coast United at Suncorp Stadium. Erik Paartalu (pictured), Besart Berisha and Mitch Nichols all scored for the Roar, who made it thirty-one consecutive without a loss. Paartalu’s opener came as a header in the 13th minute but was almost equalized in the 21st when Dylan Macallister hit the crossbar for United. The visitors played well in the first half, particularly through new recruit Maceo Ritgers, but it was not enough to compete with the depth and skill of Brisbane. When Ange Postecoglou inserted Kofi Danning and Massimo Murdocca just before the hour, the match completely turned. Murdocca assisted almost immediately, providing service to Berisha who scored his second goal in as many games. It was then Berisha who set up Nichols for the Roar’s third in the 78th minute, a goal that only emphasized just how good Brisbane are. United were lucky to leave down only three as Paartalu hit the post late on. The Roar retain their top spot on the ladder while Gold Coast await the results of the rest of the weekend’s fixtures to see just how far they fall from sixth.

Tagged , , , , , , ,

2010/11 A-League In Review


2010/11 was the A-League’s sixth season and included a second extension in the length of season. After 21 games in the first four years, the A-League jumped to 27 in 2009/10 and then a 30-game season for 2010/11. The additional games allowed Brisbane Roar to accumulate the A-League’s highest ever point total for a regular season champion, amassing 65 points and finishing eight points clear of second place Central Coast Mariners. In fact, the Roar lost just a single game, a 3-0 to Melbourne Victory in Week 6.

Sergio van Dijk won the Golden Boot with 16 goals, including a hat-trick in Adelaide United’s 8-1 destruction of North Queensland Fury in Week 24. Thomas Broich led the league in assists with 12 for Brisbane, contributing to the most prolific offensive output in league history. The league’s best attendance came at Melbourne Victory and the three Melbourne derbies (as Melbourne Heart were introduced in 2010/11) were the three most highly attended matches throughout the regular season. Adelaide’s Marcos Flores won the Johnny Warren Medal as league player of the year as voted on by players, 18-year old Central Coast Mariners goalkeeper Matthew Ryan won Young Player of the Year, while seven of the eleven All-Star Team members came from the Roar.

In the Finals, Brisbane advanced to the Grand Final through a 4-2 aggregate victory over Central Coast. Adelaide and Gold Coast United played in the semi-final round with winning 3-2. From there, Central Coast outlasted Gold Coast in the Preliminary Final to schedule a rematch with the Roar in the Grand Final. Through full-time, neither side scored, yet four goals were scored in extra-time. Central Coast scored the first two from Adam Kwasnik (96′) and Oliver Bozanic (103′), seemingly winning the title. But a 117th minute goal from Henrique gave Brisbane life. In the game’s dying moments, Erik Paartalu headed in for the Roar to stunningly force penalties. From there, Brisbane converted all four of their attempts while Central Coast had two saved by Michael Theoklitos, leaving the Roar as champions of the A-League and holders of the Gold  Medal Trophy.

Despite substantial growth within the Australian and Kiwi sporting markets, the A-League did lose one of its member clubs. North Queensland Fury were wound up at season’s end, reducing the league back to ten teams. Other clubs struggled to attract supporters to their grounds even as 50,000 packed Suncorp Stadium for the Grand Final. The 2011/12 season is an important one and has both positive ground to build from and negatives to overcome.

Pos Team Pld W D L GF GA GD Pts
1 Brisbane Roar 30 18 11 1 58 26 +32 65
2 Central Coast Mariners 30 16 9 5 50 31 +19 57
3 Adelaide United 30 15 5 10 51 36 +15 50
4 Gold Coast United 30 12 10 8 40 32 +8 46
5 Melbourne Victory 30 11 10 9 45 39 +6 43
6 Wellington Phoenix 30 12 5 13 39 41 −2 41
7 Newcastle Jets 30 9 8 13 29 33 −4 35
8 Melbourne Heart 30 8 11 11 32 42 −10 35
9 Sydney FC 30 8 10 12 35 40 −5 34
10 Perth Glory 30 5 8 17 27 54 −27 23
11 North Queensland Fury 30 4 7 19 28 60 −32 19
Rules for classification:1st points; 2nd goal difference; 3rd goals scored.
Teams qualified for finals.
Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
%d bloggers like this: